Section Highlights

Congratulations to the 2013 Resident Leadership Award Winners!

Learn more about the Resident Leadership award winners. Read more»

Dorothy Richardson Awards for Resident Leadership

About the Resident Leadership Awards | 2013 Award Winners | Past Winners | Nomination Information

Celebrating Resident Leadership

For more than twenty years, the Dorothy Richardson Award for Resident Leadership has been an honor bestowed annually in recognition of outstanding contributions by dedicated community leaders. Awardees have often been lifetime volunteers and neighborhood advocates. Each of their stories and photos represents an important piece of our NeighborWorks history and serves as an example of what each of us can do for our community. View our "Salute to 20 years of Excellence" presentation.

Origins of the AwardFamous Dorothy Richardson quote
The awards are named in honor of Dorothy Richardson, a pioneer in the community-based development movement who was the driving force behind the establishment of Neighborhood Housing Services, Inc. in Pittsburgh, the forerunner of today's NeighborWorks America network.

Richardson and her neighbors banded together in the 1960s to save their declining Pittsburgh neighborhood from demolition. They recruited partners in local government and the business community. Together, they not only helped revitalize their community, but also set a precedent that changed the nation's approach to urban redevelopment and spawned the new field of community-based development. View 2013 Winners.

Past Winners

2012 Resident Leadership Award Winners

2011 Resident Leadership Award Winners

2010 Resident Leadership Award Winners

Unless otherwise noted, all content © 2014 Neighborhood Reinvestment
Corporation, dba NeighborWorks® America. All rights reserved
For questions about this Web site visit our Help Page
999 North Capitol Street NE, Suite 900, Washington, D.C., 20002
Phone: (202) 760-4000 | Fax: (202) 376-2600